Things I am learning, this time around,

Things I am learning, this time around, from exploring my ancestry:

I had thought that there was little but Scottish and English in my ancestry. On Mom’s side, the first person identified who isn’t is Irish, in the late 1700s. (There are some dead end lines back in the 1850s, so there might be other bits mixed in.) But I just found a Swedish great-grandparent, so I’m mostly 7/8 Scottish and English. So far. The rest is Swedish.

There is a massive concentration of my ancestry in the area between Pittsburg, PA and Youngstown, OH. I have ancestors whose state of residence shifted back and forth between Ohio and Pennsylvania depending on which way the wind blew the border, as their actual residence didn’t change.

There is a massive concentration of my ancestry in/around Chatham County, NC, near Durham and Raleigh. Of those, the name Lassiter/Laster/Lasiter/Laseter/Lasater is all over the place around and soon after the Revolutionary War, back when names were sort of randomly spelled. (Fortunately, ancestry.com makes these pretty easy to follow.)

Leave a Reply

