Living in the moment with rheumatoid arthritis

I know getting proper RA treatment means getting the right DMARDs to work controlling my immune system so that it quits attacking my synovial and connective tissue, so that I get minimal permanent and life-shortening joint and organ damage, but sometimes the idea of just popping a pain relief pill every few hours or wearing a patch seems ideal. I just want comfort now, I just want to be able to go back to sleep. I want to roll over without the pain of moving waking me.

I really want to come to peace with this danged disease and find reasons to appreciate what good it’s done for me, the lovely people it’s brought into my life, the ways it’s taught me to focus on priorities, on the immediate, on lived ones, on gratitude.

But a lot of the time, I hate it.

And as I type that line, I remember it’s rheumatoid arthritis awareness month. Maybe I’ll do a daily RA post. Maybe.

image

Leave a Reply

