such plans

I had such plans for the day. We were going to play quietly for a bit, build a Lincoln Log house or two, maybe spend some sandbox time, have a nice lunch, go get flu shots, then go play at a local homeschool group’s play day across the bay,

But Owen woke up busy, played hard, ate solidly all morning, and is now tired — not tired enough to sleep, but definitely tired enough to make herding him around to do things kind of hard. And I forgot to take RA meds when I woke up. I got them in me, but late, but I’m still too sore to supervise the boy at a large playground with a huge sandpit.

We haven’t decided yet, of course, how this boy will be schooled. I lean heavily toward homeschool of some sort of (not-radical) homeschooling x eclectic homeschooling variety, Casey leans perhaps more lightly that way, but hasn’t researched it too much. I think Audrey would prefer he do something more formal, but honestly, we haven’t talked about it a lot. And ultimately, what we choose will depend on what Owen, who is super-extraverted and craves social engagement with other children, seems to need when he’s old enough for us to decide, which isn’t quite yet.

Owen climbing higher than ever before, Central Park, Fremont

We are enrolling him in very part-time preschool for social engagement for now, but I’m uncomfortable with the amount of academic and similar group work or “centers” kids are actively directed to. (I don’t mind having the materials around to use, just less comfortable with directed/academic activities.) I’ve looked around the area pretty thoroughly, and even the loosest sort of arrangements have more teacher-directed stuff than makes me happy; I’m really spoiled from having taught in Oakland and Berkeley, with more progressive, play-based, Dewey-inspired preschools.

Most kids under 6 learn best through their own play, alone and in groups. (I could footnote that, but I’m not digging for citations this afternoon.) So for the time being, at least, I want to find a really good balance for Owen between the natural play I can allow him most of the day, and making sure he gets enough socialization, which I can sometimes manage … and sometimes not. His best local buddy now goes to day care 35 hours a week, and isn’t available when Owen’s craving company. The park is sometimes helpful, sometimes not. And far too often (as I mentioned at the top of this post), I’m sore, I can’t quite get us somewhere social. Ultimately, am I too disabled to homeschool Owen in a way that will allow him enough socialization for his needs?

That’s a huge concern, and it’s definitely something to explore and post about later.

~~~

As I finish writing this, Owen’s watching Curious George, and asks, “Can we make pizza like Chef Pisgetti’s?”

Yes! Yes, we can, child. We have everything we need, here at home, all ready.
Today will turn out fine. The rest of your life will, too. We’re just not sure of the details, yet.

One thought on “such plans

  1. There are a few home schooling families in Fremont. I am working towards having my house be more-or-less a Free Democratic School. I’m setting up different areas for different kinds of study. There are already six kids (including mine) who are forming into a consistent learning group here.

    Right now my house/yard isn’t quite ready to just throw open my doors. I want to have it done by the time Calli is five. So I have less than two years to get my areas set up. No pressure! It’s ok. I’m plugging along. 🙂

Leave a Reply

