list post re: 2013

(I used to do these somewhat regularly when I used livejournal more. It’s been awhile. List taken from a few people.)

1: What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before?

I watched Blue’s Clues!

2: Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

They’re not my thing. If I need to make a change, I need to do it now. Otherwise, I enjoy the year’s birthday differently.

3: Did anyone close to you give birth? 

Some friends did, but no one super-close.

4: Did anyone close to you die?

For certain values of “close to me.” My son’s grandfather died. We weren’t emotionally close, but he was a wonderful family member.

5: What countries did you visit?

I didn’t get out of California.
 
6: What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013
 
Success with RA treatment.
 
7: What dates from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
 
I turned 50, but that was a birthday, a regular thing. Otherwise, nothing specific.
 
8: What was your biggest achievement of the year?
 
Organization. I got about 10% better at tidiness and organization.
 
9: What was your biggest failure?
 
Keeping the back yard consistently clean of dog poo and clutter.
 
10: Did you suffer illness or injury?
 
I had bronchitis that took ages to recover from for the first three months of 2013, but it wasn’t debilitating, just uncomfortable. Otherwise? I live with RA.
 
11: What was the best thing you bought?
 
I’m not much of a buyer, it’s hard to think about — not emotionally hard, it’s just that I mostly buy what I need, things don’t stand out. I got two new bras, that’s actually notable. Maybe it was the big box of art supplies for my kid. I share.
 
12: Whose behaviour merited celebration?
 
I’ve got a good kid, but … celebration? Dunno. Whose?  I can’t think of anyone specific. I usually think “someone I know” with regard to these. I like what Pope Francis is doing with the Catholic Church with regard to making it a more humble and human place, though it’s a mere dent, but I think he’s actually gone backwards with regard to the role of women.
 
13: Whose behaviour made you appalled?

No one I know well. 

14: Where did most of your money go?

I don’t actually earn money. Family money goes to rent, kid-maintenance, food, savings.

15: What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Christmas.

16: What song will always remind you of 2013?

The wheels on the bus? Jingle Bells? I love you a bushel and a peck? Owen sings loudly, a lot. I tend not to have background music on, partially because he competes with it, and partially because he’s so creative in his singing that I don’t want it to compete with him. He got really excited about learning carols this year, and he consciously wants to learn songs better, for me to teach them to him. He asked, “Will you teach me more about the captain shouting?” after I sang “I’ve been working on the railroad.” So we sing it, often, with focus, then he learns it. I know exposure to other music will be good for him, and he gets it, but right now he’s often his own entertainment.

17: Compared to this time last year, are you: (a) happier or sadder? (b) thinner or fatter? (c) richer or poorer?

About the same for all.

18: What do you wish you’d done more of?

Respond to DMARDs.

19: What do you wish you’d done less of?

Watch videos with the kid, he gets about twice as much screen time as he should, but … well, it works out okay. That’s a blog post I’ve been stewing on. Aside from that when he doesn’t want to stop watching, he gets upset (which he gets over quickly) he seems to self-regulate videos within reason, so we don’t go out of our way to limit him. But some days he gets more, and I have mixed feelings about this.

20: How did you spend Christmas?

With Casey’s family on Christmas Eve and Audrey’s on Christmas Day.

21: Did you fall in love in 2013?

Over and over.

22: What was your favourite TV program?

When I go to hulu.com and catch up on my queue, I’m likely to weed out the less interesting clips from Ellen then watch the interesting ones. Then I do the same for Jon Stewart. Then I watch Castle, or Grimm. I used to like Parenthood and Grey’s but they don’t grab me these days. But I’m not sure I have a favorite. I sorta miss Warehouse 13 and Eureka, but I’m not sure there’s anything I am crazy about.

23: Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Why would I hate someone?

24: What was the best book you read?

The Unapologetic Fat Girl’s Guide to Exercise and Other Incendiary Acts  – It is awesome, and made me feel better about taking up space in the world than I had been in awhile. 

25: What was your greatest musical discovery?

I didn’t make any this year.

26: What did you want and get?

I got to know my niece Rosalyn again, and better.

27: What did you want and not get?

Recovery from this flare.

28: What was your favourite film of this year?

Gosh, I didn’t see any.

29: What one thing made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Yoga pants.

30: How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2013?

See above.

31: What kept you sane?

Pain meds, sleeping at night, a sense of humor, a nuclear family that thinks I’m awesome and worthy and treats me well.

32: Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Currently none. 

33: What political issue stirred you the most?

Same-sex marriage

34: Whom did you miss?

No one stands out.

35: Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013.

Farts contain more fecal coliform bacteria than I realized before.

Leave a Reply

