saving for days I feel like I don’t work very hard

biking around the block by marymactavish
biking around the block, a photo by marymactavish on Flickr.

This has been the busiest day of nothing in particular I can remember, ever.

I like to alternate busy days and down days with Owen, and sometimes that works. Yesterday was a busy day, we drove out of town to visit his beloved “Nina,” his grandmother, and he had a great time, but we were busy and came home exhausted. I figured today would be quiet.

He danced into my room at about 8 am, wide awake and ready to play.

He went to bed at 9:30 pm.

Between those two, there were two short periods of enforced quiet time, where I had to rest my own body and brain, so I lay down with him and let him watch videos beside me. Then he’d run off.

Other than that, there were a few books (he can usually read a few in a row with me, this time it was one at a time before he bolted off to other busyness), a ride around a long block on his bike (yes, the weather is fine for bare feet at midday) with me moving at my personal top speed behind him, rasslin’, playing TAG YOU’RE IT around the living room, listening to music, trips to BART to drop off or pick people up, a supermarket trip.

Go go go.

I kept things relatively even, I managed the energy. It felt like trying to keep a herd of stampeding bison moving smoothly without letting them knock each other over or get unruly.

At 9:30, as I was rocking him, getting ready to transfer him to bed so I could lie with him awhile and help him fall asleep, I realized he’d already fallen asleep. Then a first: He had an active, talking in sleep, running dream in my lap. I actually laughed out loud and said, “Child, you can slow down now.” He finished his dream, sighed hugely, then was just out, zonked. Asleep.

I have no idea what was up with his little brain today but I hope it’s quieter tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

